ArbitralWomen Members nominated to the ICC Court

31 July, 2017

ArbitralWomen is delighted to count many members among the International Court of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC ).

The International Court of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) announced on 7 June 2017 that it has appointed 41 new members from 38 countries to serve terms commencing on 1 July 2017. The term of the new members will expire on 30 June 2018 and will then be subject to renewal for three years.

A quarter of the 41 new members are women and 4 are ArbitralWomen members:

  • Diana Paraguacuto-Mahéo (Venezuela)
  • Marily Paralika (Greece)
  • Kim Rooney (Hong Kong)
  • Galina Zukova (Latvia)

The elections bring the total number of Court members to 184 representing 110. The number of women is 41 of which 22 are ArbitralWomen members. In addition to the new appointed members, ArbitralWomen members on the Court include the following, 6 of which are vice-presidents (by alphabetical order):

  • Funke Adekoya (Nigeria), vice-president
  • Cecilia Carrara (Italy)
  • Diana Droulers (Venezuela)
  • Beata Gessel Kalisz (Poland)
  • Inka Hanefeld (Germany), vice-president
  • Sophie Lamb (United Kingdom)
  • Crenguta Leaua (Romania), vice-president
  • Wendy Miles (New Zealand), vice-president
  • Wassila Mouzai (Algeria)
  • Irina Nazarova (Ukraine)
  • Lucy Reed (United States), vice-president
  • Claudia Salomon (United States)
  • Vanina Sucharitkul (Thailand)
  • Dorothy Ufot (Nigeria)
  • Vilija Vaitkuté Pavan (Lituania)
  • Marieke van Hooijdonk (Netherlands)
  • Vera van Houtte (Belgium), vice-president
  • Carita Wallgren-Lindholm (Finland)

Members of the ICC Court are appointed by the World Council on the proposal of ICC local offices known as national committees and groups, with alternate members appointed by the World Council upon proposal of the Court President.

With a concerted effort by the Court to ensure generational, gender and geographical diversity, the latest list of members and alternate members includes nine new members from Africa, nine from Eastern and Central Europe, seven from South East Asia and seven from Latin America. Women represent approximately a quarter of the new members.

President of the ICC Court Alexis Mourre said: “The diversity of new Court members underscores our commitment to ensure the Court draws on the full range of expertise and experience found in our global network.”

Congratulations to the new ICC Court members!

(See also GAR news of 8 June 2017)

Mirèze Philippe
Special Counsel at the Secretariat of the ICC International Court of Arbitration
ArbitralWomen Board member and Founding Co-President