ArbitralWomen Announces Leadership for 2020-2022 Term

23 June, 2020


23 June 2020

ArbitralWomen Announces Leadership for 2020-2022 Term

23 June 2020 – ArbitralWomen is pleased to announce the results of the election of its incoming Board of Directors for the 2020-2022 Term, which includes nine new members out of the 20 elected in June 2020.

The incoming Board of Directors selected Dana MacGrath, Investment Manager and Legal Counsel at Omni Bridgeway in New York, to stay on as President of the Board, and Louise Woods, Partner at Vinson & Elkins in London, to assume the role of Vice President. As Vice President, Ms. Woods also will assume the role of Chair of Young ArbitralWomen Practitioners (YAWP), ArbitralWomen’s young practitioner group launched by former ArbitralWomen Vice President Gabrielle Nater-Bass.

“I am honoured to have been selected to continue to serve as President of the Board of ArbitralWomen and look forward to working with the talented and dedicated group of women elected to the 2020 Board to promote diversity in international dispute resolution,” said Ms. MacGrath. “Louise Woods is an excellent choice for Vice President. She brings years of experience on the Board as well as the Executive Committee of ArbitralWomen, having most recently served as Secretary of the Board. She is also responsible for the launch of ArbitralWomen’s Parental Mentorship Programme among her many contributions. I look forward to partnering with Louise to lead ArbitralWomen in the 2020 Term and working with such a diverse and experienced group of arbitration practitioners on the 2020 Board.”

“I am thrilled to have been selected to serve as Vice President this term and look forward to continuing the important work that ArbitralWomen does. I am joined on the Board by some very accomplished women whom I have no doubt will contribute enormously to our efforts,” said Ms. Woods.

The 2020 Executive Board also includes Gaelle Filhöl, Managing Partner at Betto Perben Pradel Filhol, who will serve as Secretary, Juliette Fortin, Senior Managing Director at FTI Consulting, who will stay on as Treasurer, Amanda Lee, Consultant at Seymours in London, who will serve as Communications Director, and co-founders Louise Barrington and Mirèze Philippe.

The incoming Board members are from many countries and include arbitrators, in-house counsel, experts, practitioners and academics.

“We are proud of ArbitralWomen’s many achievements for women over the last two decades and are delighted to continue our many projects and new programmes with the incoming 2020 Board,” said Mirèze Philippe, ArbitralWomen co-founder and Special Counsel at the International Court of Arbitration of the ICC. “This is going to be a fantastic Board, with some excellent, energetic new members who have innovative ideas for our future,” said Louise Barrington, ArbitralWomen co-founder and independent arbitrator. “We thank the fine women who did not get Board seats this time for their commitment to ArbitralWomen and hope they will continue working with us and run again next term. Many thanks to the 2018 Board members who are leaving the Board for their service.”

ArbitralWomen wishes to thank the following 2018 Board members who are rotating off the Board for their hard work and dedication to ArbitralWomen’s mission to promote women and diversity in dispute resolution: Laurence Burger, Valentine Chessa, Diana Droulers, Asoid García-Márquez, Elena Gutiérrez García de Cortázar, Alexandra Johnson, Karen Mills, Marily Paralika and Ileana Smeureanu. We look forward to their continued involvement in our activities and initiatives as ArbitralWomen members.
Please join us in congratulating the 2020 ArbitralWomen Board Members set out in the table below:

ArbitralWomen Board of Directors 2020-2022 Term
(new members indicated by an asterisk):
Name Nationality(ies) City(ies) of Residence
Louise Barrington Canadian Hong Kong and Toronto
Affef Ben Mansour French and Tunisian Paris
Maria Beatriz Burghetto Argentinian and Spanish Paris
Elizabeth Chan * British and New Zealander London and Hong Kong
Gaëlle Filhol French Paris
Juliette Fortin French Paris
Cherine Foty * American and French Paris
Sara Koleilat-Aranjo Lebanese and French Abu Dhabi and Dubai
Yasmine Lahlou * American, French and Moroccan New York
Amanda Lee British London
Dana MacGrath American New York
Mirèze Philippe Lebanese and French Paris
Rebeca Mosquera * American and Panamanian New York
Patricia Nacimiento * German Frankfurt
Alison Pearsall American Paris
Rose Rameau * Haitian and American Washington D.C.
Rekha Rangachari * American New York
Donna Ross * Australian and American Melbourne
Gisèle Stephens-Chu * British and French Paris
Vanina Sucharitkul Thai, French and American Bangkok and Paris
Erika Williams Australian Brisbane
Louise Woods British London

ArbitralWomen is an international non-governmental organisation for the promotion of women and diversity in international dispute resolution. Over the past 27 years, ArbitralWomen has developed many programmes and opportunities to support and promote women in international dispute resolution as well serving as a leader in the efforts to overcome gender bias in the legal profession.

Of note is ArbitralWomen’s Diversity Toolkit™, a unique training programme designed to help practitioners identify bias and explore ways to address and overcome it, which has been shortlisted for the Equal Representation in Arbitration (ERA) Pledge Award at the upcoming 2020 Global Arbitration Review (GAR) Virtual Awards Ceremony.

ArbitralWomen has a mentorship programme and a parental mentorship programme and regularly promotes the achievements and activities of its members in its News Alerts, on its webpage dedicated to news about its members and in its periodic Newsletters.