Dame Rosalyn Higgins was a member of Essex Court Chambers from 1975 up until her election to the International Court of Justice (ICJ) in 1995. She was the first female judge elected to the ICJ, and was elected President in 2006, a position she held until the expiry of her term of office in 2009. She has also served on the UN Human Rights Committee, as Honorary President of the American Society of International Law (ASIL), as President of the British Institute of International Comparative Law (BIICL) and as Vice President of the Institut de Droit International. She was previously a Professor of International Law at the University of Kent and at the London School of Economics (LSE).

Dame Rosalyn Higgins will join Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao in conversation on Thursday 23 July 2020, at

  • 9am London time
  • 4pm Hong Kong
  • 6pm Melbourne.

Duration: about one hour, including Q&A.

  • Event Details
  • Location: London
  • ONLINE
  • Start Date: 23/07/2020 9:00 am
  • End Date: 23/07/2020 10:00 am
  • ArbitralWomen Participation: https://delosdr.org/index.php/in-conversation-with-neil/